translation please

Black Tulip

Not so delicate flower
I know there is a thread called dictionary-something-something but that is way to educated for me.

I am having serious, sleep losing trouble with a certain type of newspeak. :(

I think I can follow most posts but it is starting to bother the hell out of me that I don't know what the following means:

LOL

IMO

IMHO

AAMOF

:confused:

I'm sure there must be more. Feel free to add, with an explanation please. Don't make me FVD. (feel very dowdy) :D

LOL = laugh out loud

IMO = in my opinion

IMHO = in my humble opinion

AAMOF = an ass-monkey on fire (no, I have no idea.)

LOL = Laughing out loud.
(ROTFLMAO = Rolling on the floor laughing my ass off.)
AAMOF = As a matter of fact.
IANAL = I am not a lawyer.
IANAD = " a doctor.
These are listed several places. Google "acronym."
BTW = By the way.
IIRC = If I recall correctly. (Or If I remember correctly.)

Last edited:
Black Tulip said:
I know there is a thread called dictionary-something-something but... I am having serious, sleep losing trouble with a certain type of newspeak. :(

KTLH

Keep THIS List Handy.

ROTFLMAOASTC = Rolling On The Floor Laughing My Ass Off And Scaring The Cat. :eek:

My favorite for a long time was....

IITYWIM,WYLMA? = If I Tell You What It Means, Will You Leave Me Alone?

Whisper :rose:

I used to use those a lot, about 10 or so years ago back when I first joined the net. One of my favourite things to say just before leaving to visit the bathroom was:

FYI AFK BRB RSN

We also invented our own subset of them that only our group of friends understood, such as CMC - Coffee Machine Calls and suchlike..

Definitely too many TLAs ;)

raphy said:
I used to use those a lot, about 10 or so years ago back when I first joined the net. One of my favourite things to say just before leaving to visit the bathroom was:

FYI AFK BRB RSN