Birth Control Pill Question

Learning81

Virgin
I've been a fan of this site for several years now but this is my first time posting.

This morning I went and got birth control pills for the first time ever from Planned Parenthood. My question is, how long do I need to take the pill until it becomes effective in preventing pregnancies.

The brochure from Planned Parenthood said to use a back-up method of birth control for the first 14 days.

BUT the little package that came from the manufacturer of Ortho Tri-Clen Lo said to use a back-up method for 7 days.

So which is it.....7 or 14?

BTW I'm on the "Sunday Start" cycle if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance. :)

I've always heard that it's wise to use a back-up for a MONTH... Better to be safe than sorry.

phoenix1224 said:
I've always heard that it's wise to use a back-up for a MONTH... Better to be safe than sorry.

That's what I always heard too...I've also heard that sometimes it can take up to three months to become totally effective...I guess it just depends on what you read. Personally, I would use a back up method for at least the first month...let the pill get settled into your system...and then have at it after that.

Just as a little side note...which I'm sure you're MORE than aware of having read the directions and all...but just in case....the pill won't protect you from STD's.

I'd play it safe and just use backup (most likely condoms) for the duration of your first pill pack (one month). It takes your body time to adjust to the hormones.

When my doctor prescribed them, he said to use a back up for one month ... just in case. Regardless of what the pill pack might say. That was a moot point for me, as I had them for a different reason ... but it's always better to be safe rather than sorry.