blindman24

Really Experienced
ok here's my dillemma...

I just got to 100 posts, so i thought I'd put my avatar up. the only problem is, I can't get it small enough...

before you tell me how to shrink it in photoshop, I'm a graphic designer so I know photoshop inside and out. That's not the problem. but for some reason, I just can't shrink my image enough (without turning it into an unrecognizable blob) to make it fit for Lit's requirements.

is there a trick, or a website or something that I don't know about? because those of you that have av's, they seem to look relatively clear, and I don't get wy mine's not working.

so any advice would rock, and be very appreciated! thanks!

Sometimes you need to lower the image quality to make it work. And yes it will make it look like a blob. Some images are so huge, that if you take anything away from them, you will lack quality. So if you can't shrink it enough in photoshop, try another program and see what happens.

Ravin

There's thread somewhere on LIT, maybe in the General Forums, where you can post your pic and other folk will reduce it for you.

I can modify pics with my printer software. Microsoft Picture It! does the trick also.

I don't know if it works with animated GIFs, though.

You might want to crop out the section that really captures the essence of the image, then compress that section on its own.

What size is the whole image before compression?

blindman24 said:
That's not the problem. but for some reason, I just can't shrink my image enough (without turning it into an unrecognizable blob) to make it fit for Lit's requirements.

A couple of things I've discovered about reizing for avatars: